Indian Bank Notes are printed for Reserve bank of India by a public sector undertaking of Indian Government called Security Printing & Minting Corporation of India Limited (SPMCIL). This was formed after corporatization of all nine Mints/ Presses/ Mill which were earlier working under the Ministry of Finance. Printing bank notes involves 2 processes: 1. Making of the blank security paper & 2. Actual printing of the bank notes.

SECURITY PRESSES: There are 1 place  in India  where the security paper to print bank note is manufactured. It is called Security paper mill, Hoshangabad, Madhya Pradesh. It was established in the year 1963. It is the first and only paper mill for bank notes in India. For details about this press visit

SECURITY PRESSES: There are 4 places in India where the bank notes are printed. They are currency note press: Nasik, Maharastra, Bank note press Dewas, Madhya Pradesh, Bharatiya Note Mudra Nigam, Salboni, West Bengal and Bharatiya Note Mudra Nigam, Mysore, Karnataka.
1. Currency Note Press, Nasik: Located in Maharashtra
was established in the year 1928. It was the first printing press for bank notes in India. By 1932, this press was printing the entire spectrum of Indian Currency Notes. For details about this press visit

Nasik Currency Note Press




2. Bank Note Press, Dewas:
Located in Madhya Pradesh, Dewas press was
established in 1974. It prints Bank Notes of 20, 50, 100 and 500 denominations. This press also manufactures high quality security inks for various security printing organizations. For details about this press visit
Dewas Bank Note Press


3&4. Bharatiya Reserve Bank Note Mudran Private Limited (Mysore, Karnataka & Salboni, West Bengal): was established by Reserve Bank of India (RBI) as its wholly owned subsidiary on 3rd February 1995. It was done to increase the production of bank notes in India to close the gap between the supply and demand for bank notes in the country. Both the presses print 30 billion note pieces per year on a 3-shift basis. For further details visit

We believe papermoney that has no inset, insets A, B, C are from Mysore. Bank notes with insets E, F, G, H are from Nasik. Further, insets M, N, and P are from Dewas. Insets P, Q, R, and S are from Salboni. This has not been confirmed or authenticated by RBI or Government of India. It is our best guess.
Security Press Picture

Additional information